Listen Live
HomeNewsHay River NewsSport North announces 2015 NWT Hall of Fame entrants

Sport North announces 2015 NWT Hall of Fame entrants

Twenty-five people will be inducted into the NWT Sport Hall of Fame this year.

Sport North, the governing body for sports in the Northwest Territories, announced the list of entrants on Thursday. The induction ceremony will be held at the Yellowknife Elks Lodge #314 on Friday, November 20.

Meika McDonald will be welcomed into the Hall of Fame as an athlete, having been a champion of the Arctic Winter Games in two senses – as a record-breaking Alaskan high kick competitor and, later, as a member of the Games’ international committee.

McDonald has since watched her children grow to become Arctic Winter Games competitors themselves, following in her high-kicking footsteps.

- Advertisement -

In the builder category, four sports enthusiasts who laid the foundations for Sport North are honoured: Dennis Crane, Peggy Curtis, Roland Gosselin and David Hurley.

This year’s team entrants are the NWT fastball players who reached the 1979 Canadian Championship finals.

The team included Glen Alexander, Scott Alexander, Craig Bentley, Doug Bothamley, Kevin Daniels, Len Dies, John Ewasyke, Joker Gaida, Paul Gard, Brent Hinchey, David Inch, Randy Maksymowich, Adam Pich, Randy Rechner, Rod Stirling, Kelly Tyacke, Andy Tereposky, Sigmund Undheim and John Waniandy.

Nominations for the hall of fame are invited from across the territory each year, before a selection committee makes a final decision.

More details: 2015 NWT Sport Hall of Fame announcement | Prior inductees

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading