-18.7 C
Sunday, December 3, 2023
HomeNewsHay River NewsDrop the Pop Campaign Awards Announced

Drop the Pop Campaign Awards Announced

Fourteen schools across the territory have been chosen to receive awards as part of the 2017-2018 Drop the Pop campaign, the Department of Health and Social Services (HSS) announced yesterday.

Drop the Pop is an annual campaign that encourages students, families, schools and communities to drink healthy beverages, especially water.

This year, 48 schools in the Northwest Territories participated in “Drop the Pop,” using funding provided by the Government of the Northwest Territories to promote healthy food and beverage choices. The winning schools will be awarded prizes ranging from $800 – $1,500 in recognition of their Drop the Pop activities.

École Saint Patrick High School, the Young Offenders Facility and NJ Macpherson School in Yellowknife and Diamond Jenness Secondary School in Hay River were some of the winners of this year’s campaign.

- Advertisement -

“Congratulations to the winners and all 48 participating schools of this year’s “Drop the Pop” campaign,” says Glen Abernethy, Minister of Health and Social Services.

“Choosing healthy drinks makes a difference to the overall health of children and youth. The creative work that students and schools have done to promote healthier choices is helping us build healthier communities.”

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading