Five teams crowned champs in 33rd annual Balsillie Cup

The Tait Hawks vs Kasteelers in the Midnight Sun (B) division championship
- Advertisement -

The 33rd annual Balsillie Cup wrapped up in Yellowknife Sunday night. 

Over 200 players and 24 teams competed in the event, which took place at the Multiplex and YK Arena over the weekend. The games were competitive across all five divisions.

In the Omega division (45+), the Coldwell Banker Blades beat the Shorty’s Selects in the championship game with Robin Greig being named MVP.

The Canadian North division (D) saw the Deline Old Goats and La Loche, Sask. head to overtime to decide their championship with Deline coming out on top.

- Advertisement -

The J and A Fire Protection division (C) was won by the Bassett Petroleum team over J and A Fire Protection. The final score in that championship was 2-0.

In the Midnight Sun division (B), the Tait Hawks and Kasteelers had a tight 2-1 game late in the third period when the Hawks pulled away with late goals. The Hawks were also the B division champs last year.

In the final game of the tournament, the Weaver and Devore/Balsillie division (A) was won by the Northbest Ol Packers. They beat the Subway Sting 7-1 in the championship game with MVP honours going to Matt Greyeyes.

Northbest Ol Packers and Subway Sting get ready for the opening face-off to start the Weaver and Devore/Balsillie (A) division championship
The Subway Sting set up on the powerplay against the Northbest Ol Packers in the championship
- Advertisement -