Listen Live
HomeNewsR.J. Simpson Voted to be Next Premier of the NWT

R.J. Simpson Voted to be Next Premier of the NWT

Coming on the heels of this morning’s announcement of Shane Thompson being elected as the Speaker of the 20th Legislative Assembly, the same body has just elected R.J. Simpson as the new Premier.

Simpson is the MLA for Hay River North. The Territorial Leadership Committee conducted its selection process in the Legislative Chamber, formal motions to approve the choices will be presented when the 20th Legislative Assembly begins on Friday, December 8th, 2023 at 10:00 a.m.

Premier-elect R.J. Simpson will be sworn in as Premier of the Northwest Territories at a ceremony to be held in the Legislative Chamber.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading