Listen Live
HomeNewsHistoric night in the NWT as 9 women are elected as MLAs

Historic night in the NWT as 9 women are elected as MLAs

It’s a historic moment in the Northwest Territories (NWT) 19th Legislative Assembly. The people of the NWT have spoken electing a new Legislative Assembly which includes nine women.

In the last election which was held in 2015, only two women held seats, that drastically changed with last night’s election results which historically gives the NWT the highest proportion of women legislators in Canada.

Caroline Cochrane was re-elected on Tuesday in Range Lake. Arthur C. Green/Submitted Image

The NWT nine includes Paulie Chinna, Caroline Cochrane, Julie Green, Caroline Wawzonek, Diane Thom, Lesa Semmler, Frieda Martselos, Caitlin Cleveland and Katrina Nokleby.

Caroline Cochrane was re-elected on Tuesday in the Range Lake district with 439 votes, just 18 votes more than Hugie Graham who received 421 votes.

- Advertisement -

“So I certainly will be looking for a cabinet seat,” Cochrane told Moose News. “I think I worked hard the last assembly and I will tend to work hard again this assembly.”

Cochrane was astounded that eight other women have seats in the Legislative Assembly.

“The biggest thing for me is that I’m really excited that there are so many women that have been elected,” Cochrane said.  “I know we’ve made history, and that is phenomenal. Women have finally taken a seat at the table.”

Other winners include Ronald Bonnetrouge, Kevin O’Reilly, Rocky Simpson, Shane Thompson, Jackie Jacobson, Steve Norn and Rylund Johnson.

Some districts were decided by only a small margin of votes and a recount has begun in Frame Lake and Yellowknife North. The recount is mandatory.

[email protected]


- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading