Listen Live
HomeNewsHay River NewsOrder of the NWT celebrates seven inaugural inductees

Order of the NWT celebrates seven inaugural inductees

Seven people, including NWT Commissioner George Tuccaro, were the first to be inducted into the Order of the Northwest Territories on Wednesday.

The honour, which was established in 2013, recognizes people who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavor benefiting residents of the territory or elsewhere.

It’s the highest honour awarded to NWT residents and is available to any Canadian citizen that is a current or former resident of the territory.

In addition to Tuccaro, six residents received the honour during an induction ceremony at the legislature Wednesday. They include:

- Advertisement -
  • Bruce Green of Hay River
  • Lucy Jackson of Fort Good Hope
  • Sonny MacDonald of Fort Smith
  • Gino Pin of Yellowknife
  • Ruth Spence of Yellowknife
  • John B. Zoe of Behchokǫ̀

Pin, a Yellowknife architect, was part of the team that built the legislature. He spoke to Moose FM about his passion for the art.

“The main thing in terms of architecture is listening,” he said. “Listening to people’s concerns and trying to address their needs but the whole thing about architecture is the ability to have fun with it.

“It’s one of those arts that just hangs out there.”

Green was nominated for his work as an educator. For years he’s worked to develop the arts, science and sports in Hay River.

“The people I’ve met through education are remarkable,” he said. “That’s where I met my wife and some of the best people you could hope to meet in life are involved in education.

- Advertisement -

“It’s a job that doesn’t get any easier as you go through it but I don’t think there are many things that could be more rewarding.”

In years to come, a maximum of three people may receive the award annually.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading