-19.7 C
Sunday, December 3, 2023
HomeNewsYellowknife RCMP Holding Special Memorial Service for Fallen Officers

Yellowknife RCMP Holding Special Memorial Service for Fallen Officers

Members of the Northwest Territories RCMP will be observing a special memorial event this weekend.

On Sunday, September 24th, northern officers will be holding a ceremony at the RCMP Headquarters building in Yellowknife to celebrate Canadian Police and Peace Officers’ National Memorial Day. The event is to honour police and peace officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty.

The service will commence at 11:00 a.m. at Northwest Territories RCMP Headquarters, Henry Larsen Building, 5010 Veteran’s Memorial Drive. The event will begin at 11:00 am, with members of the public invited to take part.

This year’s event is mourning the loss of service members all across Canada, including:

- Advertisement -

Toronto Police Constable Andrew Hong
South Simcoe Police Constable Devon Northrup
South Simcoe Police Constable Morgan Russell
RCMP Constable Shaelyn Yang
IOO Constable Grzegorz Pierzchala
Edmonton Police Constable Brett Ryan
Edmonton Police Constable Travis Jordan
RCMP Constable Harvinder Singh Dhami
OPP Sergeant Eric Mueller
OPP Detective Constable Steven Tourangeau

Two historical admissions will also be included, with Canada Customs Officer James Mowat, who died in 1913, and RCMP Constable Vernon Genaille, who died in 2002. The NWT service will also be honouring the fifty-six officers that have died over the years while serving in the Northwest Territories, Yukon, and Nunavut.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading