Listen Live
HomeNewsClimate Youth Advisory Group Finds All Members from Across NWT

Climate Youth Advisory Group Finds All Members from Across NWT

The recently established Climate Youth Advisory Group has successfully found eleven members from across the NWT to fill its ranks.

The NWT Climate Change Council formed the new group to help give younger people a voice on the matter of climate change. In recent years, youths have had a stronger voice in demanding accountability from governments and industries around the world.

The members of the Climate Youth Advisory Group are all under the age of 30, and are drawn from all regions of the NWT. They will be engaging with their communities and bringing their unique voices and experiences to three virtual meetings and one in-person meeting per year.

As they work, they will also be learning about policy making practices, and be able to lend their suggestions and recommendations to ideas proposed by the NWT Climate Council.

- Advertisement -

The members of the Advisory Group are;

Jessi Pascal and Grace Illasiak from Beaufort Delta.
Mary Ann Minoza-Sylvester and Lauren Corneille-Lafferty from Dehcho.
Tanisha Beaverho and Jody Ann Zoe from North Slave.
Andrew Speakman from Sahtu.
Julia Gyapay and Reegan Jungkind from South Slave.
James Thomas and Ellen Gillies from Yellowknife.

The Climate Youth Advisory Group held its first meeting virtually on March 7, 2023. They will have their first meeting in person in June.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading