Listen Live
HomeNewsSeveral NWT Women Receive Scholarships from De Beers Group

Several NWT Women Receive Scholarships from De Beers Group

De Beers Group has awarded $45,000 in scholarships to 10 Canadian women to continue the company’s commitment to support women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) fields in Canada.

The scholarships were awarded to eight women from the NWT, one from Northern Ontario, and one woman from Nunavut. Each receives $4,500 as they enter year one of a program. They were selected from more than 475 applications received from across Canada.

Moses Madondo, Managing Director of De Beers Group Managed Operations, said: “It’s clear from the overwhelming response that there is still a need to accelerate opportunities for women in STEM. As a company committed to Building Forever, we remain focused on identifying and removing systemic barriers to social and economic inclusion because we recognize that equal opportunity will benefit us all.”

Congratulations to the following recipients:
• Amelie Aubrey-Smith, NWT: Bachelor of Science
• Brenna Beck, NWT: Bachelor of Science
• Jada Beck, NWT: Undergraduate in Medical Education
• Zoe Clark, NWT: Bachelor of Science
• Rosalyn French, NWT: Bachelor of Science
• Emma Gelinas, Ontario: Bachelor of Science
• Shelby Martin, NWT: Bachelor of Science in Nursing
• Crystal Mitchell, Nunavut: Diploma in Environmental Technology
• Angela Storr, NWT: Bachelor of Commerce, Business Technology Management
• Stella Wong, NWT: Bachelor of Applied Science

- Advertisement -

The 2022 scholarships are part of a three-year $135,000 program launched earlier this year as part of De Beers’ Building Forever program in Canada. It builds on the success of a partnership between De Beers Group and UN Women that provided US$408,000 in scholarships to support Canadian women in STEM between 2018-2021.

In addition, De Beers Group is funding four new $5,000 entrance scholarships annually over the next four years to support women in STEM at the University of Calgary, two in science and two in engineering. Individuals interested in applying for these scholarships need to apply directly through the University.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading