Listen Live
HomeNewsFour NWT residents receive volunteer awards; nominations open for next year

Four NWT residents receive volunteer awards; nominations open for next year

The GNWT has announced the four winners of the 2020 NWT Outstanding Volunteer Award.

All recipients received $1,000 to donate to an organization of their choice.

Paulie Chinna, Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs says volunteerism plays an important role in contributing to healthy, safe and vibrant communities in the NWT.

“This program acknowledges individuals who donate their time to improve the quality of life for NWT residents,“ she adds.

- Advertisement -

Recipients of the NWT Outstanding Volunteer awards for 2020 are:

  • Outstanding Elder Award – Marino Casebeer
  • Outstanding Youth Award – Anna Seagrave
  • Outstanding Individual Award – Caihla MacCuish
  • Outstanding Group Award – Inclusion NWT, Board of Directors

The donations will be going to Folk on the Rocks, Fostering Open eXpression among Youth, Yellowknife Women’s Society and Inclusion NWT’s Respite Services program.

Due to the health protocols around public gatherings, a video was produced recognizing the recipients of the award. The video celebrating the winners can be viewed here.

The GNWT has also announced a call for nominations for the 2021 OVAs, the 30th year of this award.

Residents are encouraged to nominate an elder, youth, individual, or group volunteer in their communities.

Nominations are being accepted for the four categories. The deadline for nominations is Thursday June 17th.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading