21 candidates vying for Ndilo, Dettah council seats

Dettah (aerial view)
An aerial view of Dettah. Submitted photo
- Advertisement -

Twenty one candidates are competing for 10 seats in the Yellowknives Dene First Nation communities of Dettah and Ndilo.

YKDFN members will elect five councillors for Dettah and five for Ndilo on August 26th. The election will take place two weeks after Dettah’s chief is elected, there are currently four people in the running for chief. The chief of Ndilo Ernest Betsina was elected in 2017, as elections of the chiefs of each community are staggered two years apart.

Council candidates for Dettah (incumbents bolded):

Liza Charlo-Pieper
Jessica DeLeary
Bobby Drygeese
Alfred Liske
Kateri Lynn
George Martin
Derrick L. Sangris
Jonas Sangris
Mary Rose Sundberg

Council candidates for Ndilo are:
Cecilie Beaulieu
Troy Beaulieu
Justina Black
Lena Ann Black
Lloyd Drygeese
Roy Erasmus Sr.
Catherine Lafferty
William Lines
Elizabeth J. Liske
Philip E. Liske
Ted Tsetta
Alice Wifladt

People who want to hear from the candidates can do so at two forums – August 14th, 7 p.m. at the Ndilo gym (Ndilo candidates) and August 15th, 7 p.m. at the Chief Drygeese Centre (Dettah candidates).

- Advertisement -