Three administration changes announced for YK1 schools

- Advertisement -

Yellowknife Education District No. 1 has announced three staffing changes for the 2019-2020 school year, two of which are new principals for Yellowknife’s NJ Macpherson School and École William McDonald Middle School.

Shirley Zouboules will be transitioning to the role of curriculum coordinator out of the district office at N.J. Macpherson School after the 2018-2019 school year.

Zouboules is born and raised in the NWT and has worked as a teacher, literacy coach, assistant principal and principal since joining YK1 in 1989. She has been the top administrator at NJ. Macpherson since 2012.

She will continue her regular principal duties until she officially takes over on August 26th when she replaces Brenda Johnson who will be retiring at the end of the school year.

- Advertisement -

Landon Kowalzik has been named as the new principal of N.J. Macpherson School as her replacement. Landon is currently a teacher of social studies at École Sir John Franklin High School who began teaching math and studies at the school in 2006.

He has also taught Northern Studies, World Religions, Psychology, AP Micro, and AP European History. Landon has coached the boys and girls hockey teams at the high school for the past 12 years and been the teacher advisor on the Student Council for the last five.

Jodi Lee-Lewis has been appointed as principal of École William McDonald Middle School for the 2019-2020 school year as she will be taking over for the school’s current principal Jeff Seabrook who is taking a year’s leave.

Throughout the past decade at YK1 she has held the positions of teacher, Intensive French Coach, Pre-Kindergarten Coordinator, Program Support Teacher, and Principal.

All three changes will take effect on August 26th.

- Advertisement -