Election Day in the North

Thom will be the first official Commissioner of the NWT since May, 2016.
- Advertisement -

Today is election day for some communities in the Northwest Territories. Sachs Harbour, Fort McPherson, Fort Resolution, Fort Providence, Enterprise, Paulatuk, Aklavik, Tuktoyaktuk, and Ulukhaktok will be voting for their new councils today. Here is the voting information for the elections in the area surrounding Yellowknife.

In Fort Providence, citizens have four mayoral candidates to choose from and ten councillor candidates. Residents can vote for their mayor and four council members until 7 p.m. tonight at the community hall. Here are the Candidates:

Candidates for mayor

  • Danny Beaulieu
  • Samuel Gargan
  • Bernadette Landry
  • Rudolph Landry

Candidates for council

  • James Ben Bonnetrouge
  • Ronald Bonnetrouge
  • Rosemary Bonnetrouge
  • Sophie Bonnetrouge
  • Peter Canadien
  • Victor Constant
  • Linda Croft
  • Shirley Gargan
  • Pearl Leishman
  • Wayne Sanderson

In Fort Resolution, voters have to choose three council members of the seven candidates. Voting is happening at Antoine Beaulieu Memorial Hall until 7 p.m. Here is the list of candidates:

  • Arthur Beck
  • Chrissy Lafferty
  • Sharon Lafferty
  • Angela McKay
  • Elizabeth Ann McKay
  • Brandie Miersch
  • Wilfred Simon

In Enterprise, all candidates have gone acclaimed. Here are the four acclaimed candidates:

  • Barbara Louise Hart
  • Daniel Jordan Harley
  • Craig McMaster
  • Bruce Proud
- Advertisement -