8.6 C
Sunday, September 24, 2023
HomeNewsGNWT awards 2017 Hospitality Award

GNWT awards 2017 Hospitality Award

Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment Wally Schumann honored a key builder of the Northwest Territories’ global reputation for hospitality.

Last week in Inuvik, Jean Marie River’s Lucy Simon was given the 2017 NWT Parks Hospitality Award. Simon was recognized for her year of outstanding camper comments and excellent hospitality.

The award was handed out at the NWT Tourism Annual General Meeting.

The Parks Award Program was created by the Department of ITI in 2006 to encourage excellence in hospitality and service at NWT parks and campgrounds.

- Advertisement -

Minister Schumann said people like Simon are the ones who make all the difference in the Territory.

“We will continue to encourage excellence in tourism and parks so more people choose to visit our territory and new economic opportunities are available for our residents.”

The Government of the Northwest Territories listed a world class parks facilities as a key focus for Tourism 2020 – the Territory’s plan to increase tourism by 2020.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading