Four residents to be inducted into Order of the NWT this month

The Order of the Northwest Territories celebrated its first seven inductees during a ceremony in October 2015.
- Advertisement -

Four NWT residents will be inducted into the Order of the Northwest Territories during a public ceremony at the end of the month.

Established in 2013, the Order recognizes individuals who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in a field that benefits people of the territory or elsewhere.

Read: Summary of 2015 recipients (pdf)

It is the highest honour awarded to NWT residents. Last year, seven people – including former NWT Commissioner George Tuccaro – were the first to be inducted.

- Advertisement -

A maximum of ten people may receive the Order in the first two years and up to three may be inducted in subsequent years.

Recipients this year include:

  • Ms. Nellie Cournoyea
  • Mrs. Jan Stirling
  • Mr. Anthony W. J. Whitford
  • Dr. Marie Wilson

2016 recipients will be inducted into the Order of the Northwest Territories during a public ceremony at the legislature on June 29.

- Advertisement -