Bob McLeod assigns portfolios to six NWT cabinet ministers

Legislative Assembly
The Chamber of the NWT Legislative Assembly. Submitted photo
- Advertisement -

NWT Premier Bob McLeod has announced portfolio assignments for cabinet ministers of the 18th Legislative Assembly.

Last week, we learned that Robert C McLeod, Alfred Moses, Wally Schumann, Louis Sebert, Glen Abernethy and Caroline Cochrane would form the executive council alongside McLeod.

On Monday, McLeod, who is serving an unprecedented second term as premier, revealed which portfolios each member would oversee.

Read: Bob McLeod Re-elected As Premier Of The Northwest Territories

- Advertisement -

“I am pleased to welcome the new and returning Ministers selected by the Legislative Assembly,” said McLeod in a statement.

“We have a good mix of experience and enthusiasm on the new Cabinet and all Ministers are committed to working hard on behalf of NWT residents.”

Abernethy and Robert C. McLeod are the only two ministers back on cabinet and both will retain some of their previous portfolios.

McLeod, MLA for Inuvik Twin Lakes, will serve as deputy premier, finance minister, minister of lands and minister of municipal and community affairs.

Abernethy, member for Great Slave, will return as health and social services minister while also serving as human resources minister, government house leader, minister responsible for seniors and minister responsible for people with disabilities.

- Advertisement -

Read: Jackson Lafferty Will Serve As Speaker for 18th NWT Assembly

The premier himself will take over the portfolio of industry, tourism and investment while also serving as minister of the executive, minister of aboriginal affairs and intergovernmental relations and minister responsible for the Public Utilities Board.

First-time cabinet ministers will assume the following portfolios:

  • Alfred Moses: minister of education, culture and employment and minister responsible for youth
  • Caroline Cochrane: minister responsible for the Northwest Territories Housing Corporation, minister of public works and services and minister responsible for the status of women
  • Wally Schumann: minister of environment and natural resources and minister of transportation
  • Louis Sebert: minister of justice, minister responsible for the Northwest Territories Power Corporation and minister responsible for the Workers’ Safety and Compensation Commission

Premier McLeod also assigned additional responsibilities to three ministers to promote “increase coordination and collaboration across departments and enhanced engagement with other governments and external partners.”

- Advertisement -

That means Robert C. McLeod will also serve as minister with lead responsibility for infrastructure, Cochrane will be the minister responsible for addressing homelessness and Sebert is minister responsible for public engagement and transparency.

All portfolio assignments will take effect on Wednesday, according to the legislature.

“Members of the Legislative Assembly were briefed on the current fiscal and economic situation during our orientation and we do have some challenges to address,” said Premier McLeod in a statement.

“Our revenue projections for the medium term are flat and that will mean some difficult decisions about how we spend our money as a government.

“Cabinet and Regular Members will need to work together to align our expenditures with our revenues, while at the same time coming up with a plan to sustain programs and services and make strategic investments that will support economic growth and diversification.”

The 18th Legislative Assembly will return to session in February.

- Advertisement -